The Secret is Conviction

-1

I wrote a post awhile back on the way we attract things to ourselves; not only people but jobs, money, etc.  On success in general, a few things stick out from my childhood in particular.  One was a saying my grandfather used on me quite often:

“You can’t just WISH to play the piano well; you have to spend the time practicing every day.”

The other is a line from the book, Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson, which is a novel about two sisters who mirror the relationship between Jacob and Esau.  Caroline is beautiful and talented while Sara Louise is awkward and unsure of her place in the world.  When a family friend leaves a large sum of money to Caroline instead of Sara Louise (who was under the impression that she would inherit said money), the gentleman says:

”Your sister knew what she wanted,” said the Captain, ”so when the chance came she could take it. Do not tell me no one ever gave you a chance, Sara Louise. You can make your own chances. But first you have to know what you are after, my dear.”

I have not read Rhonda Byrne’s book, The Secret, because I’m on the fence with regard to her intentions in publishing it.  I think the “law of attraction” is nonsense; the universe is composed of a series of random occurrences and trying to make up silly ideas like that kind of puts me off; there really is no secret behind what she’s talking about.  When people REALLY want something they go after it, and that goes for a type of career, all types of relationships with people, etc.  Success without or with just limited connections is achieved through sheer will, discipline, and desire.  It goes back to the piano saying; it’s not just enough to “wish” to play it well, in order to do so a good deal of time must be invested in practice.  And with regard to people, a relationship (family, friendship, romantic) is only as solid as what both parties invest; it is up to us to determine what we want to put in and get out of a relationship.

I think the reason I have been relatively successful so far in my life is because I live with the conviction that I’m working toward a specific end goal, and I fully believe that I can make a difference with regard to that goal.  I’ve had a vision of what I’ve wanted to do with my life for about 10 years now, and while I don’t believe in any magical abilities we have to make things suddenly happen because we “thought about them,” I DO believe that a driving vision is a fully rational way of paving the way for personal success.

Leave a Reply

